top of page

About Russell Broom

-production/mix Kue Varo "Cowboy Witchcaft"

-production/mix/programming/guitars/bass Anna Melva "Met Myself" and "Boys on Bikes"

-composer for season 3 of JANN, as well as JANN "Alone for the Holidays" on CTV/Roku

-composer/multi instrumentalist/mix/engineer "How We Ended Us" feature film

-production/writing/engineering/multi-instruments on Jann Arden’s "Descendant"

 her 15th record for Universal Music.

-production/engineering/multi instruments/mix on Art Bergmann "ShadowWalk" for Weewerk Records

-production/mix/engineering/guitars on the new Art Bergmann record “Late Stage Empire Dementia”, featuring the politically charged upcoming single “Christo Fascists” with MC5 legend Wayne Kramer

-production/mix/guitars for Jason McCoy charity single “We Are One”, featuring Jason with guests Ed Robertson from BNL, Gordie Johnson from Big Sugar, Tim Hicks, Aaron Pritchett, Deric Ruttan, Raghav, Pavlo, Hayley Jensen, and many more.

-MD for North American Tour of the Queen musical "We Will Rock You"

-produced/mix/guitars for Christmas duet of Ian Tyson song “Silver Bell” for Shane Zadrevec and Ian Tyson

-additional production/mix/guitars for the Lindsay Ell single “Want Me Back”

-contributing guitars to the JUNO nominated Iskwē album acākosīk


-Recent productions for Jann Arden, Leeroy Stagger, Michael Bernard Fitzgerald, The Dungarees, Jeffrey Straker, Sykamore, JP Maurice, Belle Starr and contributing guitars to albums for Brett Kissel, Mariel Buckley, Leaving Thomas, Chip Taylor/Kendall Carson, Joe Nolan, Martin Page, Clayton Bellamy as well being the composer/music producer on the hit CTV comedy series JANN


Awards and significant achievements


-Winner of JUNO Songwriter of the Year (with Jann Arden) 

-JUNO nominations for Producer and Engineer of the Year

-6X WCMA Award winner

-2X AMPIA Award Winner

-SOCAN Awards for Jann Arden songs Sleepless and Where No One Knows Me

-Platinum and Gold Sales Awards for the Jann Arden albums “Happy” “Blood Red Cherry” “Greatest Hurts” Love Is The Only Soldier” “Jann Arden” “Uncover Me” 

-Musical Director for 2019/20 North American tour of “We Will Rock You”

-Mix credits for CMT, including Lady Antebellum, Jim Cuddy, Ron Sexsmith, George Canyon, Amos Lee, Fred Eaglesmith, Colin James

-Performances with Jann Arden, Ian Tyson, Corb Lund, Oh Susanna, Mackenzie Porter, George Canyon

-Musical Director/guitarist for Charity Events “Flood Aid” and “Fire Aid”, working with Johnny Reid, Barney Bentall, The Rankins, Tom Cochrane and Colin James 

-Musical Director/guitarist for “Last Waltz Revisited” featuring Amy Helm, Corb Lund, Matt Andersen, Barney and Dustin Bentall, The Road Hammers, Joey Landreth and Frazey Ford

-Musical Director/guitarist/mixer for “CMT Next Generation” featuring MacKenzie Porter, Brett Kissel, Dallas Smith, Autumn Hill, Kira Isabella, Belle Starr

Russell with Jann Arden
Studio Glam-shot
Russell, Amy Helm, Matt Anderson, Corb Lund, Joey Landreth and band during the Last Waltz Revisited
Russell with Michael Bernard Fitzgerald
City Folk in Ottawa with Ian Tyson and Corb Lund
Russell performing with Ian Tyson
Russell performing with George Canyon
Russell backing Corb Lund
Russell performing with Jim Cuddy and Kendel Carson at Commonwealth Stadium
Russell performing with Tom Cochrane
Russell performing with Mackenzie Porter
Russell with MBF opening for Bryan Adams
Russell with Ian Tyson
Russell performing with Jill Barber
Jann and Russell performing on set of JA
bottom of page